St Joseph’s School had its beginning with the arrival in Stanthorpe by four Sisters of Mercy on the 9th February 1875. The four Sisters were Sisters M Agnes, Emilian, Muredach and Malachy. This small group of dedicated Sisters pioneered Christian education enduring great hardships in the fulfillment of their apostolic mission.
The foundation stone for the Convent building now on the Secondary campus was laid on 11 October 1931. The building cost the grand sum of 12,258 pounds and was solemnly blessed and opened by his Lordship DR J Byrne, Bishop of Toowoomba on the 17th April 1932.
The original school was formerly the Globe Hotel. The school occupied the position more or less where the current Presbytery now stands. It was thought that its initial roll call was in excess of 120 students, some of whom had travelled considerable distances by foot from the outlying tin mines. The original ‘school’ consisted of one large room with the barest of necessities.
In 1884, St Joseph’s School had its first inspection by an Officer of the State Department who reported very favourably on the school, teaching and results generally. However the building was in a bad state of repair and the winter winds whistled through the floor, ceiling and walls. But for all of this the old Globe Hotel was to remain the school until 1907 and the arrival of Fr Matthew Ryan as Parish Priest.